Status Updates

Guage…. *sobs*

It is official that I’m incapable of matching the guage on this blanket I’m working on. I either get the width but then realize I messed up my foundation row count (too many kid interruptions) then, multiple tries later, (after not getting the width) I get the width again but then I realize that I messed up my count again!

I originally was like I’m going to ignore the Guage and just go for it. I got to my 3rd skein and was measuring… Every 6 rows I was losing 2 inches of my blanket length. I would have needed 2 more skeins probably than the 4 required in the pattern.

I tried different hook size combinations (a bigger hook for my foundation chain and a smaller for actual working the project) and I will just be short a few inches on width.

How does this work? Do I work the posted rows and stitches from the pattern to see if I have the guage? I know whatever the width of the most foundation chain is, once working my dc in the stitches, it gets shorter.

image
Yes... Still the basketweave. My nemesis.
One thought on “Guage…. *sobs*

  1. I feel your pain! Gauges are a nightmare! Most of the time, to get it right, I have to crochet abnormally loosely so to solve that problem, if I’m making a garment, I just go a size up – but I guess you can’t do that with a blanket unless you adjusted it so that you do a few extra stitch pattern repeats.

    Best

    Eleanor x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

