Stitch Sitch

What I’m Hooking…

It has been a bit since I have done a post. I have no reason other than I just didn’t. But here I am to share what I have on my hook at the moment.

I see people all the time talking about how wonderful C2C is and how quickly it works up. I decided to give it a go. Unfortunately I decided to use Bernat baby sport yarn so it isn’t going as fast as I would like.

I have also discovered I have an extreme dislike for color changes but I will have to deal with that on my own if I want to continue to crochet. Before this everything I made had been one color.

I couldn’t decide what I wanted to do with it when I started. I was going to make it only green but I got the “smart” idea to add more colors. I went out an also bought pink and white. I was going to do 3 rows of each color. It ended up looking like a baby color version of Italy’s flag so I scrapped it. (Note: I have nothing against Italy I am just not Italian in the slightest!) This is the result so far:

IMG_6464

I first thought of doing C2C squares and then joining them but I couldn’t seem to find a pattern or tutorial to join them and keep the integrity of the pattern with the spacing so I just scrapped that idea.

However, I found a video tutorial on join a you go C2C and I am going to do it! I am going to make this one a long strip and then start adding another section so it will kind of look like a V pattern with the colors. As you can see I started decreasing on one side to make it a rectangle. It will be fairly large since, as it is now, it is enough to cover my lap but I am fine with that.


My other project I just started last night. A little girl I know is turning 4  and she loves Minnie Mouse. I don’t have the skill or patience for a graphgan so I am just going to do a v-stitch in pink and white with some black added in sporadically. I will also add a mouse head and ears with a bow.

I decided to use Bernat Softee Chunky yarn. As much as I use Bernat yarn you would think they pay me. They don’t. LOL.

I went to Joann’s but they don’t have pink in store so I bought white and black and ordered the pink online and have to wait for it. I hate waiting but them’s the breaks.

Here it is in all its two row glory:

IMG_6465

I am looking forward to working on this as I have wanted to do this stitch for a while. I hope she likes it.


Last but not least I purchase my first order of Stylecraft Special DK yarn. Everyone RAVES about how AMAZING it is so I had to try it. Of course I am in the US so I can’t just go to a store (that I am aware of) and check it out in person so I am taking the internet’s word for it on this. The colors are the Dr. Who scarf colors. I am not a Whovian but I love the colors so I am using them. I plan to do a star. My problem is I can’t decide on a 5 or 12 point star.

Feel free to help me decide in the comments if you read this far into my post. LOL

Who Scarf Pack

9 thoughts on “What I’m Hooking…

  1. I LOVE Stylecraft Special DK so much! So soft and snuggly. I actually made my brother a Dr Who scarf (well, I made 6 foot of it anyway then I decided that was probably enough scarf) and the colours worked up really nicely. Happy crocheting!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I too love Stylecraft Special. I’ve used lots of the aran weight and have lots of DK in my stash. I usually order it from Deramores. I wish the huge range of colours was available in all weights though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

